Ad Space here

Welcome Guest! To enable all features please Login or Register.

Notification

Icon
Error

Options
Go to last post Go to first unread
Dustin Higgins  
#1 Posted : Monday, September 16, 2019 8:43:13 PM(UTC)
Dustin Higgins

Groups: Registered
_United States

Was thanked: 6 time(s) in 6 post(s)

I'm putting this out there as a work in progress.  Per some Google searches I don't see a lot of folks trying to automate Quickbooks tasks with PowerShell.  I am a PowerShell freelancer and a small business owner.   With the small business comes some pretty basic accounting.  There are routine expenses every month, mileage reports, and invoices.  In the name of making accounting fun, I'm off to automate a lot of the routine Quickbooks accounting tasks via PowerShell.   Honestly, the real reason is that I want the transactions to be entered the same way with the same comments, etc.  If they are scripted, they will be uniform.  I'm guilty of trying to copy/paste what I did last time.  I don't spend a lot of time in Quickbooks and tend to not have a routine.  There will be frequent updates to this project as I make progress.   So far, I've been able to do the following through the Quickbooks SDK / Com object.

1. Open a connection/session

2. Add a new customer

3. Close the connection/session

The "Add a new customer" code isn't ready to be posted yet.  Here is the code to load the SDK DLL, and Open/Close a Connection/Session:

Code:
Add-Type -path "C:\Program Files (x86)\Common Files\Intuit\QuickBooks\Interop.QBFC13.dll"

Code: